Miss Aparri crowned Binibining Cagayan 2012

02 Aug

Ms. Criselda I. Antonio crowns Ma. Erika Olive Anne P. Castillejo, Binibining Cagayan 2012. Also in photo are Renee Salud (right) and Mikaela Aman.

By: Mielmia Marie T. Baquiran

Miss Aparri, Ma. Erika Olive Anne P. Castillejo was crowned this year’s Binibining Cagayan, besting 22 other candidates from the different municipalities of the province during the pageant and grand coronation night at the Cagayan State University Andrews Gymnasium, Tuguegarao City on June 28, 2012. The crown is Aparri’s triple feat in a row in the most prestigious beauty pageant in Cagayan.

Miss Castillejo also bagged the “Pili na Media,” award and Best in Gown during the night’s affair. A graduate of the University of the Philippines – Baguio, with a degree in Journalism (cum laude), Miss Aparri presently works at the Metropolitan Tuguegarao Water District.

In the final interview, Castillejo said that she respects women who choose different paths in life, either to become a full-time mother or a career woman. “I will choose to also have a career in the future because I want to become a well-rounded person,” she said. The crowd went wild as finally Miss Castillejo was crowned the new Binibining Cagayan, toppling Miss Lal-lo (Robee Rose S. Villasor who was crowned as Binibining Gobyerno Ti Umili (GTU). Mikaela Aman, Binibining Cagayan 2011 and who was also Aparri’s bet last year, passed on her crown to the newly crowned queen during the awarding. Binibining Cagayan 2012 was awarded with a P30,000 cash prize, crown, trophy and sash. Binibining GTU was given P25,000, crown, trophy and sash.

Meanwhile, Miss Amulung, Llana Rose Montilla was crowned Binibining Turismo with an award of P20,000, crown, trophy and sash; Miss Claveria, Imma Marie A. Yamat, emerged as 1st runner-up bagging P15,000, trophy and sash. Miss Solana, Geraldine Nuñez as 2nd runner-up was given P10,000, trophy and sash.

Other awards were given during the pageant including Best in Festival Costume and Best in Swimsuit (Miss Lal-lo), Best in Talent (Miss Gattaran), Miss Photogenic (Miss Gonzaga), Texter’s Choice Award (Miss Claveria), Miss Avon and Miss STI (Miss Solana), Miss C2 (Miss Sta. Teresita), Miss K-Servico (Miss Tuao), and Miss Centro Department Store (Miss Amulung). The award for the Best Designer for Festival Costume went to Jerome Agcaoili, who designed Miss Claveria’s costume. Chi Rio was awarded the Best Designer for Gown. He designed Miss Aparri’s purple long gown for the pageant.

The pageant was full of glitz and glamor as celebrities and dignitaries were chosen as judges for the show. Leading the panel of judges were: fashion icon Renee Salud, fashion model Gerard Go, respectable lawyer to the celebrities Atty. Marian Ivy Reyes-Fajardo, and Apayao Vice Governor Hector Pascua. The show was hosted by ABS-CBN talent Diane dela Fuente, stage actor Leo Ponseca, singer-actor Sherwin Marquez, and our very own Provincial Tourism Officer Jenifer Junio-Baquiran.

Miss Criselda I. Antonio, the Chair of the Binibining Cagayan 2012 Committee expressed her gratitude and appreciation to all who have been part of the Binibining Cagayan and Aggao Nac Cagayan 2012. “I would like to thank everyone who supported the Aggao Nac Cagayan celebration. Your effort, assistance and support made this festival truly a successful one,” she added.

The Binibining Cagayan 2012, which was the highlight of the Aggao Nac Cagayan 2012 was attended by celebrities, local officials such as the members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan and local chief executives, dignitaries, department heads, family, relatives and supporters of the respective candidates, students, teachers, guests and tourists.




1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in NEWS


One response to “Miss Aparri crowned Binibining Cagayan 2012

  1. edz andres

    September 19, 2012 at 9:27 am



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: