PGC honors Gawad Saka awardees

02 Aug

By Aida B. Cabauatan

An awarding ceremony for farmers and agricultural and fishery institutions dubbed as Gawad Saka was recently held at the Cagayan State University Amphitheater last June 28, 2012. The awarding was held to honor individuals as well as institutions for their commendable performances.

According to Mildred S. Abella, Provincial Agriculturist, the Gawad Saka is an annual undertaking of the Department of Agriculture (DA) in partnership  with the Provincial Government of Cagayan to give due recognition to farmers, fisherfolks and institutions whose commitment and commendable contributions to the agricultural development is indispensable.

The honorees in the individual category and achievers in the group category received cash awards and plaques of recognition.

Lucresio Alviar, DA Regional Executive Director, said during the ceremony that the Cagayan province had been a champion province in the field of agriculture in the whole country for seven years since 2002.  Cagayan Valley Region has also been awarded 37 out of 97 national awards.  Alviar added that the search is also a venue towards achieving national food security and self-sufficiency. “The enduring commitment and laudable contributions of farmers, fisherfolks and institutions are important to achieving agricultural development in the region,” he also said.

The following are the awardees in different categories:

Individual Category:
Outstanding Rice Farmer – Hirminigildo Juan – Visitacion Sta. Ana, Cagayan
Outstanding Hybrid rice farmer – Araceli Olipani – Toran, Aparri Cagayan
Outstanding Corn farmer – Sofronio M. Tamayao, Jr. – Dassun, Solana Cagayan
Outstanding HVCC Farmer – Zacarias de Vera – Alimannao, Peñablanca Cagayan
Outstanding Sugarcane Farmer – Oscar Campos – Villarey, Piat Cagayan
Outstanding Coconut farmer – Edgardo Martin – Cabaritan East Ballesteros, Cagayan
Outstanding Large Animal Raiser-  Pablito Agra, Jr. – Sta. Ana Cagayan
Outstanding Small Animal Raiser – Josue Balderama, Jr. – Nararagan, Ballesteros Cagayan
Outstanding Fisherfolk (Fish capture) – Rondel Dela Cruz – Palauig, Sta. Ana Cagayan
Outstanding Fisherfolk (Fish Culture) – Marcial Balmores – Cataraoan, Piat Cagayan
Outstanding Young farmer – Dexter Agnir – Union, Claveria Cagayan
Outstanding Farm Family – Mr. and Mrs. Simplicio C. Valdez – Magrafil, Gonzaga Cagayan
Outstanding Agricultural scientist – Eunice Layugan – CSU, Aparri Cagayan

Outstanding Group Category:
Outstanding Barangay Food Terminal-LGU Operated – LGU Sta. Praxedes – Sta. Praxedes, Cagayan
Outstanding Organic Farmer – SALUAD Farmer’s Organization – Centro 1, Sta. Ana Cagayan
Outstanding Young Farmer Organization – Hilltop 4H Club, Sta Clara, Gonzaga Cagayan
Outstanding RIC    Bantay RIC- Bantay, Camalaniugan Cagayan
Outstanding Small Farmer/Fisherfolk Organization – Nararagan Valley MPC – Nararagan, Ballesteros Cagayan
Outstanding MAFC – MAFC Ballesteros – Ballesteros Cagayan
Outstanding PAFC – PAFC Cagayan – Capitol Hills, Tuguegarao City
Outstanding FARMC – FARMC Claveria – Claveria, Cagayan
Outstanding Agri. Entrepreneur – Lighthouse Cooperative – Tuguegarao City
Champion Municipality – Municipality of Sta. Ana – Sta. Ana, Cagayan

Leave a comment

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in NEWS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: