Binibining Cagayan 2013 Pageant Features Maidens of the Cagayan River

11 Jul

Miss Lal-lo, Darlene Batacan is crowned as Binibining Cagayan 2013.

Miss Lal-lo, Darlene Batacan is crowned as Binibining Cagayan 2013.

By: Mielmia Marie T. Baquiran

Seventeen (17) candidates from the municipalities and different agencies of the province competed in this year’s Binibining Cagayan pageant. Featuring the theme “maidens of the river,” the pageant paid tribute to the mighty Cagayan river, which is known as the longest river in the Philippines and is considered as one of the province’s tourist gem.

The pageant was conducted on the night of the Aggao Nac Cagayan day, June 29, 2013 at the Cagayan State University gym with an overwhelming crowd cheering for their respective candidates.

The candidates of this year’s Binibining Cagayan were Miss Abulug, Miss Alcala, Miss Amulung, Miss Aparri, Miss Baggao, Miss Ballesteros, Miss Buguey, Miss Camalaniugan, Miss Cagayan Economic Zone Authority (CEZA), Miss Cagayan State University (CSU), Miss Department of Agriculture (DA), Miss Lallo, Miss Gonzaga, Miss Sanchez Mira, Miss Solana, Miss Piat, Miss Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) Federation.

The judges of the pageant were Mr. Frederick Peralta, one of the country’s top fashion designer (Chairman of the board); Ms. Marina Benipayo, beauty queen, personality development speaker, writer and actress; ); June Macasaet, Mr. Manhunt International 2013; Diane Necio, Binibining Pilipinas International 2011; Francis Ariosa, top Philippine male supermodel; Kris Melendrez, commercial, print and ramp model; Augustus Bercades, PMA Class 2005, Navy Lieutenant.

The pageant started with a grand performance form the Lallo Backlight Performers and the CSU Athena Dance Troupe.

Before the competition started, Maxie Baggayan Umoso, this year’s Binibining Cagayan Chair expressed his gratitude to the supporters of the prestigious pageant.

The candidates first appeared onstage and awed the audience in their parade of colourful and elegant costumes, which were designed by local designers. The best in costume was awarded to Miss Lallo. The best costume designer was awarded to Jessie Casibang of Solana.

Next, the ladies wore their swimsuits onstage with confidence and elegance. Miss SK Federation bagged the Best in Swimsuit award. They also paraded in their beautiful gowns designed by their respective local designers. Miss SK Federation won the Best in Gown award. Meanwhile, the Best Designer in Gown went to the designer of Miss Lallo’s gown, Marlo Ramos Javier.

The top eight (8) finalists of the Binibining Cagayan were Miss Piat, Miss DA, Miss SK Federation, Miss Camalaniugan, Miss Lallo, Miss Sanchez Mira, Miss Abulug and Miss CSU.

The finalists went through a question-and-answer portion and questions were thrown by the distinguished board of judges. Questions were focused on youth empowerment, education, women’s rights, tourism, and about Cagayan’s potentials.

Binibining Cagayan 2013, Maria Erika Castillejo had her final walked onstage before the announcement of winners. She thanked all her supporters during her reign as Cagayan’s Ambassadress of Goodwill.

After hours of rigid competition, Miss Lallo, Darlene Batacan emerged as this year’s Binibining Cagayan; Binibining Gobyerno ti Umili (GTU) is Miss Piat, Anna Mae Cagurangan; Binibining Cagayan Turismo is Miss SK Federation, Hanna Sheena Manuel; 1st Runner-up is Miss Sanchez Mira, Melflor Grace Lacro; and 2nd Runner-up is Miss Camalaniugan, Anna Rhodora Garcia.

Meanwhile, the hosts of the pageant were Provincial Tourism Officer Jenifer Junio-Baquiran; Steve Patrick Moore who is an events host, sports caster and athlete; Zara Aldana, ex- Pinoy Big Brother housemate celebrity edition 2 and Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia-pacific International 2007; and Sherwin Marquez, Cagayan’s pride, singer, actor and host.

Entertainment were provided by CSU Athena Performing Arts Bureau; Jairus Gatan, winner of this year’s Talentadong Cagayano Search; and Sherwin Marquez.

This year’s Binibining Cagayan were also supported by various local officials such as our Board members and local chief executives, heads of agencies, people form the academe and other groups.

Sponsors of the pageant include GD Travel Agency, Ahead Tutorial and Review Center, Style Studio Fashion School, Medispa, Splash, Paseo Reale, K-Servico, SkyMac Tile Center, Tuguegarao City Dental Chapter, AMA Computer college, Jaksilog, Chamelas, Pasto Restaurant, Solana Memorial Park, Hotel Kimikarlai, Velasco Hardware, and RD Maddara.

The following are the awards given during the pageant:

Miss Friendship: Miss Aparri
Miss Photogenic: Miss Lallo
Best in Talent: Miss Ballesteros
Pili Na Media (Darling of the Press): Miss Camalaniugan
Miss Paseo Reale: Miss Lallo
Miss Sky Mac: SK Federation
Miss Splash: SK Federation
Miss Ahead: Miss SK Federation
Miss Style Studio: Miss Abulug
Miss Medi Spa: Miss SK Federation
Miss GD Travel: Miss SK Federation
Miss Kimikarlai: Miss Lallo
Best Smile: Miss Sanchez Mira

Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in NEWS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: